

OFFICE OF INSPECTOR GENERAL CITY OF JACKSONVILLE

DATE: June 28, 2018

- TO: Dr. Cheryl L. Brown, Director/ Council Secretary Office of City Council
- FROM: Judge Elizabeth Senterfitt, Chair Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee
- SUBJECT: Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee 2017-2018 Annual Report

In accordance with *Ordinance Code*, Section 50.110 – Review of Boards and Commissions, Sunsetting, and Reporting – the Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee (Committee) submits its 2017-2018 Annual Report. This report summarizes the activities of the Committee from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018.

Committee Responsibilities

The Committee was established by Section 602.305, *Ordinance Code*. The Committee is responsible for making decisions and recommendations regarding the selection, retention, and removal of the Inspector General. The Committee is also responsible for appointing an interim Inspector General in the event of a vacancy in the position of Inspector General and for providing guidance, direction, and support to the Office of Inspector General (OIG).

<u>Members</u>

As provided in Section 602.305, *Ordinance Code*, the Committee is composed of seven members selected as follows: (1) The President of the Jacksonville City Council or his or her designee; (2) The State Attorney of the Fourth Judicial Circuit or his or her designee; (3) The Chair of the Jacksonville Ethics Commission or his or her designee; (4) The Chair of the Jacksonville TRUE Commission or his or her designee; (5) The Public Defender of the Fourth Judicial Circuit or his or her designee; (6) The Chief Judge of the Fourth Judicial Circuit or his or her designee; and (7) The Mayor of the City of Jacksonville or his or her designee.

The following individuals participated as members of the Committee for meetings held during the reporting year:

"Enhancing Public Trust in Government Through Independent and Responsible Oversight"

2 Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee Annual Report for 2017-2018

Member Name	Member Position
Honorable Anna Lopez Brosche	President of the Jacksonville City Council
L.E. Hutton	Designee for Honorable Melissa Nelson, State Attorney
	for the Fourth Judicial Circuit
Brian J. Aull	Chair of the Jacksonville Ethics Commission (2018)
Ellen Schmitt	Designee for Ywana Allen, Chair of the Jacksonville
	Ethics Commission (2017)
Danny Ferreira	Chair of the Jacksonville TRUE Commission, to
	February 1, 2018
Niki Brunson	Chair of the Jacksonville TRUE Commission, from
	February 1, 2018
Honorable Charlie Cofer	Public Defender for Fourth Judicial Circuit
Honorable Judge Elizabeth Senterfitt	Designee for Mark Mahon, Chief Judge for the Fourth
	Judicial Circuit
Sam E. Mousa	Chief Administrative Officer, Designee for Mayor of
	Jacksonville Lenny Curry

There are currently no vacant positions on the Committee. Honorable Judge Elizabeth Senterfitt served as chair of the Committee during the year.

Summary of Committee Activity

The Committee convened for four meetings during the year.

The meetings of the Committee are audio recorded. These recordings, as well as all Committee meeting agendas and minutes, are posted on the OIG website:

http://www.coj.net/departments/inspector-general/inspector-general-committee

Significant activities and discussions of the Committee during these meetings are summarized as follows:

Approval of Directive 2017-001

The Committee approved Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee Directive 2017-001, which requires the Inspector General to present the OIG's proposed fiscal year budget to the Committee, for recommendations and comments, during a Committee meeting held between April 1st and April 15th of each year.

Approval of Proposed Changes to Sections 602.301- 602.309, Ordinance Code

The Committee approved proposed changes to Sections 602.301- 602.309, Ordinance Code, to:

- 3 Inspector General Selection and Retention Committee Annual Report for 2017-2018
 - Further clarify the role of the Committee after the selection of the Inspector General. Changes require the Committee to meet no less than once every six months to receive an update on the OIG's activities; to review and provide feedback on the OIG's proposed annual budget every spring before the Inspector General presents the proposed budget to the Mayor's Budget Review Committee; and to evaluate the performance of the Inspector General on a yearly basis.
 - Further clarify the process for selecting a Committee chairperson. Changes require the chairperson of the Committee to rotate, in numerical order, beginning with the President of the Jacksonville City Council or his or her designee. The chairperson serves for a term of two years beginning July 1st. The position of chairperson is connected with the position and not the individual.
 - Change the penalty provision from a \$500 fine to a Class D offense.

Approved the OIG 2018-2019 Proposed Budget

The Committee reviewed and approved a draft of the proposed OIG fiscal year 2018-2019 budget.

Appointed Interim Inspector General

On June 1, 2018, the Committee appointed an Interim Inspector General, subsequent to the resignation of Inspector General James Hoffman, effective June 8, 2018.

Made Recommendation for Permanent Inspector General

On June 19, 2018, the Committee recommended the appointment of a permanent Inspector General.