

Duval County Legislative Delegation

CHAIR REPRESENTATIVE LAKE RAY

VICE CHAIR REPRESENTATIVE CHARLES MCBURNEY

> Minutes Delegation Rules Committee Tuesday, September 11, 2012 2:00 P.M. Conference Room 2C - City Hall

SENATORS AUDREY GIBSON JOHN THRASHER STEPHEN R. WISE

REPRESENTATIVES

JANET H. ADKINS DANIEL DAVIS REGGIE FULLWOOD MIA L. JONES CHARLES MCBURNEY LAKE RAY RONALD "DOC" RENUART MIKE WEINSTEIN

The meeting was called to order at 2:00 p.m., by Representative Charles McBurney, Rules Chair.

Present: Senator Wise and Representatives Jones and McBurney Excused: Representative Weinstein

The Chair opened the meeting by explaining the purpose of meeting was necessitated by redistricting, changing the structure of the delegation. The members discussed the rules and they were changed as follows:

Paragraph 2: Delegation Membership

Members of the Florida Legislature elected from Senate Districts 4 and 9, and House Districts 11 through 16, inclusive, shall be deemed to be members of the Duval Delegation. Adopted.

Paragraph 3: Notification and Rules

Meeting notification and the Duval Legislative Delegation Rules of Procedure will be mailed and emailed within five days to the home address of newly elected members. Adopted.

Paragraph 8: Delegation Officers

...the Delegation shall elect a Chairman and a Vice Chairman, each of whom shall serve for a term of one (1) year. Regardless of political party, no member will have served as Chairman more than one term in an eight year period, unless all other members have served at least one term as Chairman. Adopted.

117 W. Duval Street, Suite 225 Jacksonville, Florida 32202 Phone (904) 630-1680 Fax (904) 630-2074

Paragraph 15: Quorum

Five members of the Delegation shall constitute a quorum; four members of the House constitute a quorum in the House and one member of the Senate shall constitute a quorum in the Senate. Adopted.

Paragraph 17: Notice of Delegation Meetings

No meeting of the Delegation shall be held when the Legislature is not in session unless the Chairman has first given written notice thereof, which notice shall have been emailed and posted no less than seven (7) days prior to the date of the meeting.

Public Comments were received:

Connie Benham inquired about the purpose of the meeting and the Chair explained what the Rules Committee was charged to do. Ms. Benham asked about rule four as it relates to proposed J-bills.

Jasper Burr thanked Senator Wise for his service.

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 2:17 p.m.

Note: This is not a verbatim transcript but a summary of the proceedings. A recording of this meeting is on file in the delegation office, City Hall, Jacksonville, and is available to the public and media.

117 W. Duval Street, Suite 225 Jacksonville, Florida 32202 Phone (904) 630-1680 Fax (904) 630-2074