SENATORS AARON BEAN AUDREY GIBSON

REPRESENTATIVES

JANET H. ADKINS DANIEL DAVIS REGGIE FULLWOOD MIA L. JONES CHARLES MCBURNEY LAKE RAY

CHAIR
REPRESENTATIVE CHARLES MCBURNEY
VICE CHAIR
REPRESENTATIVE DANIEL DAVIS

Minutes
Local Bill and General
Public Hearing
Friday, January 4, 2013
117 W. Duval Street, Council Chambers

Chairman, Representative McBurney called the meeting to order at 1:00 p.m., followed by the invocation and pledge.

Members present: Senators Bean and Gibson; Representatives: Davis, Fullwood, Jones, McBurney, and Ray; Excused: Representative Adkins

A quorum was present. The agenda was adopted unanimously by voice vote.

The Chair presented Representative Lake Ray a token of appreciation for his service as Duval Delegation Chair for 2011-2012.

The Chair recognized Mayor Alvin Brown for remarks.

Local Bill J-1, an act relating to the Police and Fire Pension Fund was discussed. The Chair recognized Councilman Gulliford to explain the bill.

Senator Gibson was recognized for an amendment, which is attached. Senator Gibson explained the amendment. Speakers on the amendment were as follows: Councilman Gulliford, Councilman Crescimbeni, Curtis Lee, and Beth Heath. The amendment was adopted by voice vote.

J-1, speakers were: Connie Benham, Jerry Merckel, Allan Childers, Jordan Wilson (Resolution Movement), Patricia McBride, Robert Belfield, Dan Carr, Judith Youngblood, Beth Heath, Andy Anderson, Carla Miller, Councilmember Lori Boyer, Curtis Lee, Angela Demonbreun.

Representative Ray requested that Cindy Laquidara, General Counsel, provide a history as it relates to the Charter of the City of Jacksonville regarding the Police and Fire Pension Fund. Ms. Laquidara provided the history, followed by questions and answers. Members discussed the bill.

Councilman Gulliford and John Keane spoke regarding their position on the bill. J-1, as amended, was adopted unanimously.

Speakers on general issues were as follows:

Angela Corey, State Attorney

Jerry Holland, Supervisor of Election

Louis "Mike" Borno, Jr., Mayor of Atlantic Beach

Larry Williams, Northeast Florida Regional Council

Janet Owen, President, University Of North Florida

Nikolai P. Vitti, Superintendent, Duval County Public Schools

Penny Thompson, Shands Jacksonville

David Abramowitz, Department of Children and Families, Regional Director

Chuck Young, Family Support Services Executive Operating Officer

Charles Griggs, Bonnie Sorenson and Dawn Allicock, Duval County Health Department

Todd Roobin, Jacksonville Film and Television Office

Paul Mcelroy, JEA, Chief Executive Officer/Managing Director

John Rutherford, Sheriff

Roy Schleicher, JPA, Interim Chief Executive Officer

Nathaniel P. Ford, Sr., JTA, Chief Executive Officer

Susan Ponder-Stansel, Community Hospice of NE Florida, and Teresa Barton, Aging True

Jim Clark, Daniel Memorial

Jennifer Chapman and Theresa Little, Early Learning Coalition

Elliott Palevsky, River Garden Senior Services

Brad Thoburn, NE Florida Regional Transportation Study Commission

Jim Whittaker, The Arc Jacksonville

Trey Csar, Jacksonville Public Education Fund

Steve Jenkins, Chair Environmental Protection Board Vince Seibold, City Of Jacksonville Environmental Quality Division Robert A. Jones Jack Dodge Lucille Ferry, The Foxglove Foundation, Inc. Susan Green and Melissa Adams, United Way of NE Florida Linda Levin, Eldersource Natalie Alden, Mayor's Disability Council Sheri Goodwin Laura Bailet, JCCI Bill Carroll, Operation New Hope Barbara Gubbin, Jacksonville Public Library Mark Middlebrook, St. Johns River Alliance Mike Dulin, Amikids Jacksonville, Inc. Aschelle Morgan, One Spark, Inc. Steve Johnson Susan Singh, Self-Directed Care Lynn Bertram, Pace Center for Girls Amy Cavanaugh, Florida Can Dianne Larson, Era-Now USA Chris Ranung, Compass (Congress Of Motion Picture Association of Florida)

Dr. Matthew Corrigan

Jerry A. Bridgham, MD, Northeast Florida Pediatric Society

Jill Dame, Jacksonville Children's Commission, Interim Executive Director

Larry Dixon, AARP Florida

Suzanne H. Clark, Professional Educators Network of Florida

Angela Demonbreun, League Of Women Voters

Cecil Williams, Southern Food Policy Advocates & Duval County Food Policy Council

Dr. Candace Hodgkins, CEO, Gateway Community Services

Laurel Moredock, FSU

Angie Nixon, Florida New Majority

Gilbert Wright and Daniel Bean, Jacksonville Historic Naval Ship Association

The delegation then heard from additional speakers who were not on the agenda:

Connie Benham

Michelle Stephens, Jacksonville Juvenile Justice Coalition

Carnell Oliver

Patrick Krug, Florida Alimony Reform

There being no further business the meeting adjourned at 5:05 p.m.

This is not a verbatim transcript but a summary of the proceedings. A recording is on file in the delegation office and posted online on the delegation website.