

Duval County

Legislative Delegation

Minutes Mental Health Workshop January 29, 2015 1:00 PM 117 W. Duval Street, Lynwood Roberts Room

The meeting was called to order at 1:03 p.m., with opening remarks from Representative Janet H. Adkins, Chair.

PRESENT: Representatives Adkins, McBurney and Jones

The Chair explained the purpose of the workshop was to evaluate if any laws need to be changed, determine factors that are contributing to gross use of jails/prisons/homeless shelters to house the mentally ill, and find out how to improve delivery of services to reduce the need for crisis driven intervention.

The Chair recognized Farisha Hamid, legislative aide to Senator Gibson, to make a statement on her behalf in support of the mental health workshop.

Presenters:

Ben Warner, President of Jacksonville Community Council, Inc. presented and introduced Pat Hogan, JCCI, who spoke on the JCCI Mental Health Report.

Elle Pilosena, research analyst with the Florida TaxWatch presented on mental illness in the criminal justice system.

Dr. Dean Aufderheide, Director of Mental Health Services at the Florida Department of Corrections presented on the crisis of the mentally ill in prison.

Emily Tupps, Mental Health Counselor with the Florida Department of Children & Families presented an overview of the Baker Act.

Lisa Broward, Field Office Manager for the Florida Agency for Health Care Administration presented on the Medicaid program and mental health services in Florida.

Speakers:

- 1. Katherine Burns, ReEntry Coordinator & Tara Wildes, Director of Department of Corrections
- 2. Judge Karen Cole, Fourth Circuit Court
- 3. Christine Cauffield, VP for Substance Abuse and Mental Health, Lutheran Services
- 4. Mark Fontaine (MSW, CAP), Florida Alcohol and Drug Abuse Association
- 5. Lori Constantino-Brown, Bridges of America
- 6. Denise Marzullo, President Mental Health America of Northeast Florida
- 7. Debbie O'Neal, Mental Health Resource Center

- 8. Dr. Ellen Williams, Baptist Health
- 9. Dr. Candace Hodgkins, CEO of Gateway
- 10. Jim DeBeaugrine, VP of Florida Smart Justice Alliance
- 11. Greg Frazier, National Board for Certified Counselors and Five Star Veterans Center
- 12. Erakal Goodman, Community Rehabilitation Center
- 13. Dr. Theresa Rulien, Board Member, Florida Council for Mental Health
- 14. John Bowls, Barnabus
- 15. Derrick Stephens (MSW, LCSW), Insight Telepsychiatry

There being no further business, the meeting adjourned at 3:59 p.m.

Note: A recording of these proceedings is on file in the delegation office, City Hall, Jacksonville, and is available to the public and media. Also a MP3 link is on the delegation website.