CITY OF JACKSONVILLE

YWANA ALLEN CHAIR GEORGE CANDLER JOHN HARTLEY LESLIE JEAN-BART



BRIAN AULL VICE CHAIR JOSEPH ROGAN DAVID RYBAK

ETHICS COMMISSION NOMINATING COMMITTEE

MINUTES

October 29, 2015 Conference Room 2C Second Floor City Hall

The meeting was called to order by Dr. George Candler, Chair, at 4:05 p.m. A quorum was present. Attendees: Ywana Allen, Richard Brown and Tom Paul. Others in attendance: Carla Miller, Director of the Office of Ethics, Compliance and Oversight (OECO); Kirby Oberdorfer, Deputy Director of the OECO; and Cherry Shaw Pollock, Office of General Counsel (OGC).

New Business:

Dr. Candler began the meeting by informing committee members of the procedure for the meeting and further advising that each interview would last ten minutes. Dr. Candler also discussed the application of the Sunshine Law to the candidate interviews and the meeting of the Nominating Committee. The committee members then introduced themselves and discussed the questions to be asked of the candidates during the interviews. Following discussion, the Nominating Committee agreed to narrow the list of potential questions to include the following: (1) question numbers one and two combined into one question; (2) question number six; (3) a revision to question number seven to inquire about local ethics issues of which the candidates were aware, and to combine the revised question with question number eight; (4) a new question inquiring about any points of emphasis the candidates wanted to share regarding their respective appointment applications.

Dr. Candler subsequently advised the Nominating Committee would recommend one to three persons to be considered by the full Ethics Commission for nomination to the vacant position at the next Ethics Commission meeting on Monday, November 2, 2015 at 5:00 p.m.

Subsequent to its discussion, the Nominating Committee interviewed the following candidates, listed in order of their respective interviews: (1) Anthony Salem; (2) Elgin Foreman, Jr.; (3) Iana Del Benjamin; (4) Jacqueline Rudloff; (5) David Rybak; (6) Kysha Fedd; (7) Cynthia Stroud; (8) Christopher Oliver; and (9) Dr. Sudhir Prabhu.

Upon completion of the candidate interviews, the Nominating Committee discussed all of the candidates and the voting process to select the top one to three candidates. Thereafter, each committee member ranked the top three candidates and the votes were tallied. Dr. Prabhu, David

Rybak, and Anthony Salem were announced as the top three candidates that would be recommended for consideration by the full Ethics Commission at its November 2nd meeting.

The Nominating Committee subsequently discussed the leadership of the Ethics Commission for year 2016. A motion was then made and seconded for Joe Jacquot to serve as Chair and Tom Paul to serve as Vice-Chair of the Ethics Commission in 2016. Motion approved 3-0.

Adjourn:	
The meeting adjourned at approximately 5:49 p.m.	
Kirby Oberdorfer	Date of Approval
Deputy Director	
Office of Ethics, Compliance and Oversight	

This is a summary of the meeting and is not a verbatim transcription. A recording is available at the Ethics Commission web site at http://www.coj.net/departments/ethics-commission/notices,-agendas---minutes-(1).aspx