The Jacksonville Children's Commission is governed by an 11-member board, appointed by the mayor. Seven members are chosen from each of the school board districts and four are selected at-large. Ex officio board members represent the school system, state government, law enforcement and other community funding partners.

This volunteer board sets policies and makes the final decisions on the Commission's funding strategy and grantmaking. 

Board Members

Elder Lee Harris, Chair
Mt. Olive Primitive
Baptist Church

Matthew Kane, Vice-Chair
Greenshades Software

Jill Smith, Treasurer &
Finance Chair
Community Volunteer

Cathie Shimp, Secretary

Duval County Public


Heather Harper Carter
Duval County Public Schools

Donald H. Horner, Jr., Ph.D.
Jacksonville University

Davy Parrish, Ed.D.
Community Volunteer

Ju'Coby Pittman

Clara White Mission

Heather Harper Carter
Duval County Public Schools

Donald H. Horner, Jr., Ph.D.
Jacksonville University

Davy Parrish, Ed.D.
Community Volunteer

Ju’Coby Pittman
Clara White Mission

Ex Officio Members

The Honorable Kimberly Daniels
Jacksonville City Council

The Honorable Judge David Gooding
4th Judicial Court, Juvenile Division

Bryan Hensley
Department of Children and Families

Connie Hodges
United Way of Northeast Florida

Lieutenant Mathew Nemeth Police Athletic League of Jacksonville

Julie K. Taylor
Office of the State Attorney

Dr. Nikolai Vitti, Superintendent
Duval County Public Schools

The Honorable Paula D. Wright, M.Ed.
School Board Member, District 4

Advisory Members 

Susan Main
Early Learning Coalition of Jacksonville