Desiring an opportunity to align the priorites of the Environmental Protection Board with priorities adopted by Duval County Public Schools, in 2013 the EPB began a partnership with the public school system to establish the EPB-DCPS Environmental Champion Award. The award recognizes one of the school system's Green Champions for their leadership and individual efforts to promote activities and programs which lead to heathier and "greener" schools. The award is presented during the annual EPB Environmental Symposium.

Past Winners

  • 2013 - Jessica Petote - Ruth N. Upson Elementary
  • 2014 - Amanda Polematidis - Landmark Middle
  • 2015 - Marcia Rivas - Twin Lakes Academy Elementary
  • 2016 - Brent Sawdy - Lake Shore Middle
2017 EPB - DCPS Environmental Champion Award Winner

Korry VanWagoner - Twin Lakes Academy Elementary

Having joined the leadership and provided support to the previous lead, Korry became the lead upon the retirement of Marcia Rivas (the 2015 award recipient). However, she did not simply continue the status quo, but rather added additional elements that further engaged the students and faculty. During the past year, the program added a butterfly garden, two raised gardens – one vegetable and one fruit, expanded focus from Earth Day to Earth Week with enhanced activities and grealty increased faculty participation which served to further imbed the program within the school’s culture. The Great Water Odyssey Challenge was a 30 day take-home activity that brought much focus to water conservation, both in school and at home. Korry is already thinking about next year and will tackle air quality with a Stop the Idle Campaign in the carpool and bus lanes and a Walking School Bus for neighborhood students.


Korry accepted the award from Dr. Lucinda Sonnenberg, Chair of the Environmental Protection Board.