Building Inspection Division

IAS acreditedThe Building Inspection Division is responsible for ensuring that existing and future developments and construction comply with the Florida Building Codes and Jacksonville's building ordinances.

Thomas H. Goldsbury, P.E., C.B.O., LEED AP
Chief, Building Inspection Division
City of Jacksonville
214 North Hogan Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
TomG@coj.net

Please call (904) 630-1100 for Building Inspections main office or click here for Trade Supervisors or here for Field Inspectors contact information
Office Hours are M-F 7:00 am to 4:00 pm

2010 Building Code

Bulletin G-10-12

Building Inspections

Online permit and inspection system
Or you can call 630-1100 to schedule an inspection on work days from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Building Inspection Division Online Property Search can be used to obtain and print the information about building code violations, COs and research permit details. Use the "Guest Sign In" and "Search for" (Top Left) Property by Address. The address number is your link to the permits or Building code enforcement details. The permit number is your link to permit details. The CV tab is complaint/violation. Note; if you are not able to print the CO it was most likely generated from our old computer system. You may email our archives section at SCHEIMAN@coj.net Jerry Scheiman.

You should also contact the officer of the day at Municipal Code Compliance 904-255-7000 to inquire about active Property Safety Issues and Mr. Bryan Mosier at the same number to inquire about abatement liens. A due-diligent check should also include our local utility company JEA 904-665-6000 to see if there are any utility holds in place.

Keep up to date with BULLETINS!

Register to receive all new bulletins through e-mail so that you will keep up with the latest changes and information from the city of Jacksonville Building Inspections Division.

View our BID Bulletin List page 

The City of Jacksonville Building Division is currently enforcing the 2010 Florida Building Code You can view an online copy here.

New Contractor Registration Registration Form Fillable100908.pdf (PDF 166k)

To search city Street names street name list.pdf
 

Report Unlicensed Activity to the DBPR!
 

Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation
     DBPR Hotline: (866) 532-1440 
 
DBPR Regional Progran Administrator: Sandra Rentfrow
     Sandra.Rentfrow@myfloridalicense.com
     (904) 723-5814

DBPR Investigator: Raina Reagan
     Raina.Reagan@myfloridalicense.com 
     (904) 723-5850


Jacksonville, Florida, Code of Ordinances  TITLE VIII - CONSTRUCTION REGULATIONS AND BUILDING CODES

JEA Incentive Programs

Residential 
Commercial 
State Energy Rebate Air Duct Leakage Form
 

Home Energy Evaluation Kit logo

Building Energy Raters are State Certified in Florida (and in other states). By Florida Statute (§ 553.990), only those individuals certified by the State are allowed to provide Energy Rating services in Florida. The search engine below will find Certified EnergyGauge Raters. 
http://securedb.fsec.ucf.edu/engauge/engauge_search_rater

Building Inspection Division Fax numbers:
Permit Counter and Notice Of Commencement Fax: (904) 255-8553
Plan Review Fax: (904) 255-8542
Landscape Fax: (904) 255-8569
Electrical Permits Fax: (904) 255-8553
Fire Marshal Plan Review and Inspection Fax: (904) 255-8559

Contact Numbers By Trade

 
Thomas H. Goldsbury, P.E., C.B.O., LEED AP
Chief, Building Inspection Division
City of Jacksonville
214 North Hogan Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
904-255-8799
Building Inspections Manager
Michael Byrd Sr. AIA
Phone:(904) 255-8505
E-mail: mbyrd@coj.net
Mechanical Supervisor
Ricky Weeks
Phone: (904) 255-8566
E-mail: rickyw@coj.net

Mechanical Asst Supervisor
Joe Bell
Phone: (904) 255-8568
E-mail: bell@coj.net

 
Landscaping Plan Review Supervisor 
Michael Byrd Sr. AIA
Phone:(904) 255-8505
E-mail: mbyrd@coj.net

Landscape Plan Review
Jeff Lucovsky
Phone:(904) 255-8533
jlucovsky@coj.net
 

Building Inspections Supervisor
Robert Metcalf
Phone: (904)255-8526
Email: RMetcalf@coj.net

Building Asst Supervisor
Chuck Gibson
Phone: (904)255-8541
E-mail: CGibson@coj.net

Building Asst Supervisor
Robert Woods
Phone:255-8539 
E-mail: RWoods@coj.net

Gas Supervisor

Ricky Weeks 
Phone: (904) 255-8566
E-mail: RickyW@coj.net
Building Code Enforcement Violations
Larry Donahue
Phone: (904) 255-8365
E-mail: LDonahue@coj.net
Plumbing Supervisor
Mike Robbins
Phone: (904) 255-8546
E-mail: MikeR@coj.net

Plumbing Asst Supervisor
John Skelton
Phone: (904) 255-8564
E-mail: jskelton@coj.net
Electrical Supervisor
Jimmy Douglas
Phone: (904) 255-8567
E-mail: JDouglas@coj.net

Electrical Asst Supervisor
Rick Taylor
Phone: (904) 255-8565
E-mail: rataylor@coj.net
 
Archives
Jerry Scheiman
Phone: (904)255-8387
E-mail Scheiman@coj.net


 


Find it by...
Offices:
Service:

Accessibility | Site Policies | Site Map | Site Index | Employee Search | Help

Need Assistance? Call (904) 630-CITY

Dial 911 in the event of an emergency or (904) 630-0500 for a non-emergency.

v2.001