IAS acreditedThe Building Inspection Division is responsible for ensuring that existing and future developments and construction comply with the Florida Building Codes and Jacksonville's building ordinances.

Thomas H. Goldsbury, P.E., C.B.O., LEED AP
Chief, Building Inspection Division
City of Jacksonville
214 North Hogan Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
TomG@coj.net

Please call (904) 630-1100 for Building Inspections main office.
Office Hours are Monday through Friday, 7:00 am to 4:00 pm.

´╗┐Changes in Permit Fee Calculations
Effective for all building permits paid for on or after October 1, 2015, you will see a change in the calculation breakdown of building permit fees only.  There will be a reduction in the Building Permit Fee (BPF), and a new Development Services Fee (DSF). The reduction in the BPF should match the new DSF.  The change should result in a very slight reduction in the overall fee due to a slightly reduced State Surcharge.  Please see Bulletin G-08-15 for more information.

´╗┐´╗┐Electronic Plan Submittal
We are pleased to announce that Electronic Plan Review (EPR) is now available for all building permits where document submittal is required. Please see link in the Menu on the left of the page for more information.
 
Florida Building Code 5th Edition (2014)
The Effective Date for the Florida Building Code 5th Edition (2014) is June 30, 2015.
The Florida Building Code 5th Edition (2014) is available online here.
A revised Residential Plan Review Checklist reflecting changes for the Florida Building Code 5th Edition (2014) is available with Bulletin G-04-15.
 
Scheduling Inspections?
This is the link to the Building Inspection Division’s Online permit and inspection system,
Or you can call 630-1100 to schedule an inspection on work days from 7 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Still Faxing NOC's?
We have implemented a new email address BIDDocuments@coj.net for submitting certain documents to the Building Inspection Division.  This address will be monitored continually during normal working hours. For a list of documents that can be submitted by email please see Bulletin G-07-15.

Violation or Permit Record Search
Building Inspection Division Online Property Search can be used to obtain and print the information about building code violations, COs and research permit details. Use the "Guest Sign In" and "Search for" (Top Left) Property by Address. The address number is your link to the permits or Building code enforcement details. The permit number is your link to permit details. The CV tab is complaint/violation. Note; if you are not able to print the CO it was most likely generated from our old computer system.

You may email our Archives section at BIDArchives@coj.net.

You should also contact the officer of the day at Municipal Code Compliance 904-255-7000 to inquire about active Property Safety Issues and to inquire about abatement liens. A due-diligent check should also include our local utility company JEA 904-665-6000 to see if there are any utility holds in place.
 
Keep up to date with BULLETINS!
Register to receive all new bulletins through e-mail so that you will keep up with the latest changes and information from the city of Jacksonville Building Inspections Division.
View our BID Bulletin List page

New Contractor?
This is a link to our Contractor Registration Form Fillable100908.pdf (PDF 166k)

Verifying an Address?
To search city Street names street name list.pdf
 

Report Unlicensed Activity to the DBPR!
 

Florida Department of Business & Professional Regulation
     DBPR Hotline: (866) 532-1440 
 
DBPR Regional Progran Administrator: Sandra Rentfrow
     Sandra.Rentfrow@myfloridalicense.com
     (904) 723-5814

DBPR Investigator: Raina Reagan
     Raina.Reagan@myfloridalicense.com 
     (904) 723-5850


Jacksonville, Florida, Code of Ordinances  TITLE VIII - CONSTRUCTION REGULATIONS AND BUILDING CODES

JEA Incentive Programs

Residential 
Commercial 
State Energy Rebate Air Duct Leakage Form
 

Home Energy Evaluation Kit logo

Building Energy Raters are State Certified in Florida (and in other states). By Florida Statute (§ 553.990), only those individuals certified by the State are allowed to provide Energy Rating services in Florida. The search engine below will find Certified EnergyGauge Raters. 
http://securedb.fsec.ucf.edu/engauge/engauge_search_rater

Building Inspection Division Fax numbers:
Permit Counter and Notice Of Commencement Fax: (904) 255-8553
Plan Review Fax: (904) 255-8542
Landscape Fax: (904) 255-8569
Electrical Permits Fax: (904) 255-8553
Fire Marshal Plan Review and Inspection Fax: (904) 255-8559

Contact Numbers By Trade

Building Official, Division Chief
Thomas H. Goldsbury, P.E., C.B.O., LEED AP
 (904)255-8799
TomG@coj.net
 
Building Inspections Manager
James Tidwell, P.E.
(904)255-8505
TidwellJ@coj.net
 
Building Code Enforcement/Violations
Larry Donahue, Supervisor
(904)255-8365
LDonahue@coj.net
 
Building Inspections
Robert Metcalf, Supervisor
(904)255-8526
RMetcalf@coj.net
Chuck Gibson, Assistant Supervisor
(904)255-8541
CGibson@coj.net
Milton Smith, Assistant Supervisor
(904)255-8539
MiltonS@coj.net
 
Mechanical Permits/Inspections
Ricky Weeks, Supervisor
(904) 255-8566
RickyW@coj.net
Joe Bell, Assistant Supervisor
Phone: (904) 255-8568
Bell@coj.net
 
Electrical Permits/Inspections
Jimmy Douglas, Supervisor
(904)255-8567
JDouglas@coj.net
Rick Taylor, Assistant Supervisor
(904)255-8565
RATaylor@coj.net
Ricky Smith, Assistant Supervisor
(904)424-6957
RickyS@coj.net  
 
Plumbing Permits/Inspections
Mike Robbins, Supervisor
(904)255-8546
MikeR@coj.net
John Skelton, Assistant Supervisor
(904)255-8564
JSkelton@coj.net
 
Landscape Plan Review
Jeff Lucovsky
(904)255-8533
jlucovsky@coj.net