District 4 Citizens Planning Advisory Committee Chair: Dewey Walker Vice Chair: Kathy Budd

MEETING SUMMARY

Florida State College at Jacksonville Kent Campus 3939 Roosevelt Blvd., Room F-128 December 8, 2014

Attendance Members:

Chair (Springtree Village) - Dewey Walker Vice Chair (Council District 10) – Kathy Budd Charter Member – Don Ingram Blue Lakes Estates – Annette Brown Clara White Mission – Abner Davis Confederate Point Civic – James Nolting Fishweir Neighborhood Watch – Bernice Gremer Hyde Grove Terrace – Shirley Lowry Hyde Grove Terrace – Peggy Meyers Murray Hill Preservation – Len Burroughs National Society of Colonial Dames – Gina Bradley Timuquana Manor N. – Alice Turknett Trinity Ministries – Bruce Tyson Watermill Master - Thomas Martin West Jax Civic – Ric Dill

Excused:

Charter Member – Chuck Mann FSCJ Cecil North - Paul McNamara The Village Salon – Steve Shaffer Timuquana Manor N. – Polly Walker Westside Area Residents – Charles Kelley Westside Business Leaders – Jane Miller

Absent - Pending Removal:

Armstrong & Bosh Insurance – Opal Burgstiner Cedar Hills Estates - Johnny Carter Gleaners Dispatch - Jim Kelly

Removed:

Note: Three consecutive unexcused absences by the organization's representative will result in the organization's removal as a CPAC member. To request an excused absence, please contact Mary Beth Ridderman: <u>marybeth@coj.net</u> or (904) 255-8260.

Elected Officials:

Council Member Doyle Carter Council Member Jim Love Council Member Daniel's Assistant - Alpha Nickelberry

Staff:

Mayor's Liaison – Angela Spears City of Jacksonville Parks and Recreation – Keith Meyer City of Jacksonville Planning and Development - Mary Beth Ridderman City of Jacksonville Planning and Development – Andy Hetzel

Staff Excused:

City of Jacksonville Public Works – Luis Flores City of Jacksonville Regulatory – Municipal Code Compliance – Dennis Steele Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) – Karen Taulbee JEA (Jacksonville Electric Authority) – Nancy Kilgo Jacksonville Sheriff's Office (JSO) – Lt. Jesse York

Guests:

Judy Martin Sandra Tucker Tina Vining Lara Hipps – Hipps Group Jacoby Pittman – Clara White Mission Dave Lowry Ethel Nolting Dale Turknett Tony Nasrallah Deborah Tyson

1. Call to Order/Verify Quorum

 Chair Dewey Walker called the meeting to order at 6:15 p.m. Mary Beth Ridderman verified a quorum. Chair Walker welcomed members and guests. He welcomed Sandra Tucker, Council Member Love, Council Member Carter and Council Member Daniel's assistant, Mr. Nickelberry. Chair Walker thanked the CPAC for the opportunity to serve as 2014 Chair.

2. Approval of the Previous Meeting Summary

• A motion to approve the November summary was made by Tom Martin. Len Burroughs seconded the motion. The vote: all were in favor.

3. Presentation of Certificates:

•Chair Walker and Vice Chair Budd presented certificates of appreciation to members and staff members. They presented a certificate of appreciation to Ethel Nolting and recognized that Mrs. Nolting is a non-member who provides invaluable assistance with the annual social each year.

•On behalf of Mayor Alvin Brown, Angela Spears presented Certificates of Appreciation to Chair Walker, Vice Chair Budd and all subcommittee chairs. Ms. Spears wished happy holidays to everyone from Mayor Brown.

4. Public Comments/Announcements (3-minute time limit):

• Council Member Love announced the City Council is meeting tomorrow night to vote on the proposed pension plan.

5. Adjournment – A motion to adjourn was made by Bruce Tyson and seconded by Len Burroughs. All were in favor. The meeting adjourned at 6:52 to begin the annual social event.

NEXT CPAC MEETING: January 12, 2015~ 7:00 p.m.

Florida State College at Jacksonville, Kent Campus 3939 Roosevelt Blvd, Room E-112F D-120 First Executive Committee meeting – January 12, 2015 ~ 6 p.m. Next Governmental Affairs Subcommittee Meeting: January 12, 2015 ~ 6:30 p.m. 3939 Roosevelt Blvd, Room E-112F

Summary prepared by Mary Beth Ridderman, Neighborhood Coordinator