District 4

Citizens Planning Advisory Committee

Chair: Kathy Budd Vice Chair: Abner Davis

MEETING SUMMARY

Florida State College at Jacksonville Kent Campus 3939 Roosevelt Blvd., Room D-120 December 14, 2015

<u>Attendance</u>

Members:

Chair - (Council District 10) – Kathy Budd
Charter Member – Chuck Mann
Charter Member – Don Ingram
Budget Automotive – Linda Barrows
Budget Automotive – Darrell Barrows
Fishweir Neighborhood Watch – Bernice Gremer
Fishweir Neighborhood Watch – Michael Fisher
Hyde Grove Terrace – Shirley Lowry
Hyde Grove Terrace – Peggy Myers
Murray Hill Preservation – Len Burroughs
Timuquana Manor N. – Alice Turknett
Trinity Ministries – Bruce Tyson
Westside Area Residents – Charles Kelley

Excused:

Vice Chair – (Clara White Mission) Abner Davis Confederate Point Civic – James Nolting FSCJ Cecil North - Paul McNamara St. Ives Townhomes – Sandra Tucker Springtree Village - Dewey Walker

Absent:

Camalot - Pierce Rumph

Absent Pending Removal:

Blue Lakes Estates – Annette Brown Gleaner's Dispatch – Terry Fountain West Jax Civic – Ric Dill

Watermill Master - Thomas Martin

Three consecutive unexcused absences will result in the organization's removal as a CPAC member. Please contact Mary Beth Ridderman at 255-8260 or marybeth@coj.net if members will be absent.

Removed:

Armstrong & Bosch – Opal Burgstiner

Cedar Hills Estates - Johnny Carter

Elected Officials:

Honorable Jim Love – City Council Member Council District 14 Honorable Becki Couch – Duval School Board Member Kevin Kuzel – Executive Assistant – Council District 14

Staff:

City of Jacksonville Planning and Development – Neighborhood Initiatives - Mary Beth Ridderman City of Jacksonville Military Affairs – Harrison Conyers Jacksonville Fire & Rescue – Battalion Chief Brady Rigdon Jacksonville Sheriff's Office – JSO – Lt. T. C. James

Staff Excused:

City of Jacksonville Parks and Recreation – Keith Meyerl
City of Jacksonville Planning and Development – Andy Hetzel
City of Jacksonville Regulatory, Municipal Code Compliance – Dennis Steele
Florida Department of Transportation (FDOT) – Jim Green
JTA – Cheryl Riddick

Guests:

Lara Hipps – Hipps Group, Representing JAA Carol Shutters – Partnership for Child Health David Lowry – Hyde Grove Terrace Jenna Emmons – Ability Housing Judy Martin – Watermill Masters Deborah Tyson – Trinity Ministries

Elaine Tyson - Trinity Ministries Donna Kelley Gysin, WARA

1. Call to Order/Verify Quorum:

Chair Kathy Budd called the meeting to order at 6:07 p.m. Chair Budd explained Vice Chair Abner Davis was absent and thanked Len Burroughs for his role as Acting Chair. Chair Budd recognized guests Carol Shutters (guest of Chuck Mann), Donna Gysin (guest of Charles Kelley), Deborah Tyson and Elaine Tyson (guests of Bruce Tyson. Mary Beth Ridderman verified a quorum. The December agenda was amended to reflect reports from the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office and Jacksonville Fire & Rescue Department.

2. Approval of the Previous Meeting Summary:

The November meeting summary was not distributed prior to the meeting. The November and December summaries will be approved at the January meeting.

Jacksonville Sheriff's Office: Lt. T. C. James provided information about Concealed Weapons Permits (CWP):

- The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is the Florida CWP permitting agency. The regional office is located at 7825 Baymeadows Way, Ste. 123-A, Jacksonville, FL 32256-7557
- Florida residents hold 175,000 permits.
- Criteria includes: at least 21 years of age, no felony convictions, U.S. citizen or permanent resident alien, demonstrates competence with the weapon, no conviction of a misdemeanor crime of violence within 3 years, not dishonorably discharged from the military, not committed/convicted for controlled substance abuse or found guilty of laws relating to substance abuse within 3 years, and does not chronically or habitually use alcohol or other substances to impair normal faculties. Other eligibility criteria may be found on the website: http://www.leg.state.fl.us/Statutes/index.cfm?App mode=Display Statute&Search String=&URL=0700-0799/0790/Sections/0790.06.html
- •Concealed weapons may not be taken in courthouses, bars, liquor stores or any other place where signs are posted prohibiting concealed carry.
- For more information, please visit: http://www.freshfromflorida.com/Divisions-Offices/Licensing/Regional-Offices/Jacksonville-Regional-Offices/Jacksonville-Regional-Offices/Licensing/Regional-Offices/Jacksonville-Regional-Offices/Licensing/Regional-Offices/Licens/Regional-Offices/Licensing/Regional-Offices/Licens/Regional-Offices/Lic
- •The CPAC thanked Lt. James with applause.
- For JSO information, call the JSO Zone 4 Office at 513-3165.
- The Zone 4 office is located in the Cedar Hills Shopping Center.
- To report suspicious activity, call 630-0500.
- To report a crime in progress, call 911.

Jacksonville Fire & Rescue Department: Chair Budd welcomed JFRD Battalion Chief Brady Rigdon, who reported:

- During the holiday season and all year, residents need to be cautious with candles.
- Test smoke detectors.
- Install carbon monoxide detectors.
- The JFRD non-emergency number is 630-0434.
- To report an emergency, please call 911.

3. Presentation of Certificates of Appreciation

- In behalf of Mayor Lenny Curry, Chair Budd and Mary Beth Ridderman presented framed Certificates of Appreciation to:
 - o Charter Members Charles Mann. Acknowledgment was given to Carol Shutter, Mr. Mann's daughter, for escortina him to the annual social.
 - Charter Member Don Ingram.
 - o Charles Kelley. Acknowledgment was given to Donna Gysin, Mr. Kelley's daughter, for escorting him to the annual social.
- In behalf of Mayor Lenny Curry, Mary Beth Ridderman presented a framed Certificate of Appreciation to the 2015 SW CPAC Chair, Kathy Budd.
- In behalf of Mayor Lenny Curry, Mary Beth Ridderman and Chair Budd presented Certificates of Appreciation to 2015 SW CPAC Subcommittee Chairs:
 - o Membership and Public Relations Abner Davis
 - Transportation Tom Martin
 - Sheriff's Advisory Committee (ShAdCo) Alice Turknett
 - Cecil Area Bruce Tyson
 - o Taxation Revenue & Utilization of Expenditures (TRUE) Abner Davis
 - Nomination Darrell Barrow
- •Chair Budd and acting Vice Chair Len Burroughs presented certificates of appreciation to SW CPAC Members.
- Certificates for the Vice Chair and absent members will be presented at future meetings
- •Certificates will be presented to staff members at future meetings.
- Certificates will be presented to or delivered to City Council Members in the future.

- 4. Unfinished Business: none
- 5. New Business: none
- 6. Public Comments/Announcements (3-minute time limit): none
- 7. Motion to Adjourn:

A motion to adjourn was made by Len Burroughs and seconded by Tom Martin. All were in favor. The meeting adjourned at 6:35 p.m. for the annual social.

NEXT CPAC MEETING: December 14, 2015~ 6:00 p.m.

Florida State College at Jacksonville, Kent Campus 3939 Roosevelt Blvd, D-120

 $Summary\ prepared\ by\ Mary\ Beth\ Ridderman,\ Neighborhood\ Coordinator\ (904-255-8260,\ \underline{marybeth@coj.net}).$