# MEETING SUMMARY SOUTHWEST CITIZENS PLANNING ADVISORY COMMITTEE

FCCJ Kent Campus – 3939 Roosevelt Blvd – Jacksonville, FL Monday, December 12, 2005 7 p.m.

# **SW CPAC Committee Members:**

ST CITE COMMISSION	<u> </u>	
Lee Martin, Chairman	Dick Jackson, RSVP	Jean McCorkle, Individual
Ralph Malphurs, Vice Chair	Robert Smith, Family Investment	Carl Moore, Lakeside
Don Ingram, Charter Member	Liza Adkison, Ortega Bluffs	James Nolting, Confederate Pt.
Charles Mann, Charter Member	Bruce Tyson, Trinity Ministries	Curtis Johnson, Sweetwater
Richard Darby, Charter Member	Sally Robson, RSVP	Steve Shaffer, Lexington Sq.
Alice Turknett, Timuquana Manor	Johnny Carter, Cedar Hills	Len Butrroughs, MHPA
Polly Walker, Timuquana Manor	Charles Kelley. W.A.R.A.	-

## City Officials/Staff/Media/Guests

Hon. Vicki Drake, Duval School Board	D. Israel-Messer, Argyle Today	Elizabeth Swayne
Folks Huxford, Planning & Dev.	Susan Chappel, FCCJ	Hettie Johnson, Cedarhurst
Mary Beth Ridderman, NSD	Ethel Nolting	Tom Johnson, Cedarhurst
Rita Humphries, Timuquana Manor	Donald Drake	Susan Chappel, FCCJ
Beverly Butler, Cinnamon Lakes I	Janet Northrup, JHRC	

Excused: Andrea Kemp, Tree Kilbourn

### Call to Order/Quorum

Chair Lee Martin called the meeting to order at 7:01 p.m, welcomed everyone and expressed his appreciation to the members of the CPAC for their continuing support of the CPAC. Mr. Martin announced that there would be a brief meeting due to the annual social event. A quorum was verified by Mary Beth Ridderman.

### **Approval of the Meeting Summary**

Chair Martin approved the December SW CPAC summary. *Len Burroughs made a motion* to accept the minutes and a second was made by Richard Darby. The vote: all were in favor. None opposed.

## **Introductions/Acknowledgements:**

- Chairman Martin recognized the Honorable Vicki Drake and her husband and thanked them for being present.
- Mr. Martin and Mr. Malphurs presented certificates of appreciation from the SW CPAC to members and city staff for their support of the CPAC.
- On behalf of Mayor John Peyton and Neighborhoods Director Roslyn Phillips, Mr. Martin and Ms. Ridderman presented a Good Neighbor Award to FCCJ's Executive Dean, Susan Chappell, Ph.D., for Dr. Chappell's ongoing support of the CPAC.
- On behalf of Mayor John Peyton and Neighborhoods Director Roslyn Phillips, Mr. Martin and Ms. Ridderman presented certificates of appreciation to Vice Chair Ralph Malphurs and to the chairs of the CPAC subcommittees for their service to the CPAC.
- On behalf of Mayor John Peyton and Neighborhoods Director Roslyn Phillips, Ms. Ridderman presented Chairman Lee Martin with an engraved star-shaped glass paper weight and a certificate of appreciation for his 2005 service as chair of the SW CPAC.

#### Adjournment

The chairman adjourned the meeting at 7:30 p.m. for the annual social event.

The next meeting will be on Monday, January 9, 2006, 7 p.m. at Forrest High School, Media Center. The Executive Committee will meet at 6:00 p.m. at the same location.