Walter Jones Historical Park
Step in the 10-acre Walter Jones Historical Park and experience the essence of post-Civil War Mandarin.
Walter Jones, an immigrant from England, purchased this farm in about 1902 from the estate of its original owner, William W. Webb. Jones became postmaster of Mandarin and located the post office in his general store, which he and his descendants operated from 1911 to 1964. The store, which has been converted into a museum, is about a mile past the park on Mandarin Road.
The city purchased the property in 1994. A new 2,500 square-foot museum opened in April 2004. It offers public educational programs, serves as a visitor center and provides artifact storage and display.
Walter Jones Historical Park is also significant for its centuries-old oak and cypress trees. It includes two picnic pavilions with charcoal grills plus restrooms. Reservations are not needed except to schedule tours, but reservations can be made by calling (904) 268-0784. (Map)
Hours: The park is open 5 a.m. - 10 p.m.