Local residents are now able to apply for their statewide concealed weapon license at the office of Tax Collector Jim Overton. Applications are processed at the downtown location only - 231 East Forsyth Street, Jacksonville, FL 32202. Walk-ins are welcome.  However, to save time and reduce the wait we recommend scheduling an appointment. For more information or to schedule your appointment, please see below.
 
What should I bring with me to the Tax Collector’s office?
You should have with you the following items/documents when you arrive at our office:
  • A picture ID (A driver license or state-issued ID card is acceptable).
  • A copy of a training document or other certificate that confirms you are proficient with a firearm.
  • Payment via cash, check, debit, or credit card. Please note there is a $2 fee to pay by debit, and a 2.5 percent fee or $2 minimum to pay by credit card.  This fee is charged by the credit card processing vendor. Neither the City of Jacksonville nor the Tax Collector's Office receives any portion of the fee.   
  • If you have ever been arrested, you should bring certified copies of the court documentation reflecting the final disposition of the charge(s) filed against you.
  • If you were born outside the United States, or if you are a permanent legal resident alien; you must bring official documentation confirming your citizenship status.
How do I make an appointment?
Appointments can be made online at: https://www.ventusappointment.com/Booking/Booking/Index/DuvalCountyTax.
Applications are processed until 4 p.m.
 
What will happen once I arrive at your office? 
After checking in with our greeter at the front desk, a staff member will direct you to a room where you will complete an on-line application form. Please note that you do not need to complete an application form in advance. When finished, your application will be reviewed for completeness. The final steps will be to take your photograph and electronically scan your fingerprints. (Fingerprinting is only required for originals and renewals of out of state residents). The entire process is usually completed in less than an hour.
 
How much does it cost to apply for a Florida concealed weapon license?
Original Concealed Weapon License Fee Schedule
License Type Fingerprint Processing Fee Initial
License Fee
Service Fee Total
Concealed Weapon or Firearm - Florida Resident $42 $55 $22 $119
Concealed Weapon or Firearm - Out of State Resident $42 $55 $22 $119
Florida Law Enforcement Officer, Active None $55 $22 $77
Florida Law Enforcement Officer, Retired within preceding year None None $22 $22
Florida Law Enforcement Officer, Retired more than a year $42 $30 $22 $94
Consular Security Official None $300 $22 $322
Judge, Active None None $22 $22
 
Concealed Weapon License Renewal Fee Schedule
License Type Fingerprint Processing Fee License Fee Service Fee Total
Concealed Weapon or Firearm - Florida Resident None $45 $12 $57
Concealed Weapon or Firearm - Out of State Resident $42 $45 $12 $99
Florida Law Enforcement Officer, Active None $45 $12 $57
Florida Law Enforcement Officer, Retired within preceding year None $30 $12 $42
Florida Law Enforcement Officer, Retired more than a year None $30 $12 $42
Consular Security Official None $300 $12 $312
Judge, Active None None $12 $12

Applicants may renew up to 150 days prior to expiration and up to 180 days after expiration with a $15.00 late fee.

More Information
For further information regarding the Concealed Weapon License, review eligibility requirements, or to check the status of your application, please visit the Florida Department of Agriculture, Division of Licensing at www.freshfromflorida.com.