City Council Member Michael Corrigan Receives Elected Official of the Year Award from Social Worker Organization

March 16, 2010  

Jacksonville City Council Member Michael Corrigan (Council District 14) received the Elected Official of the Year Award from the Northeast Florida Unit of the National Association of Social Workers at the group's annual Social Worker of the Year Luncheon held on March 11, 2010 at Jacksonville's Main Library. March is National Social Work Month and the annual luncheon and awards ceremony recognized both professional social workers and other Jacksonville citizens in a variety of categories for their contributions to the social work profession and to the health and vitality of the Jacksonville community. In presenting the award, Dawn Lockhart, President and CEO of Family Foundations, cited Mr. Corrigan for his leadership of the '1000 In 1000' anti-poverty program started in the fall of 2006 with the goal of organizing and coordinating the work of 20 leading governmental, private sector, and non-governmental organizations to bring 1,000 people (300 families) out of poverty in 1,000 days. The 1000 In 1000 progrom has developed from a concept to a pilot program serving 50 families with programs to increase their economic self-sufficiency and their family and life skills.

Michael Corrigan is the President of Nu-Trend Plastics, a local packaging company founded by his father. Elected to the City Council in 2003 and re-elected in 2007, President of the City Council for the 2006-2007 council year, Mr. Corrigan represents the Riverside, Avondale, Ortega, Timuquana, and Argyle Forest areas. He has long been a mentor himself, and in addition to his City Council service is active in a wide variety of community affairs and organizations, including Chair of the Florida First Coast Workforce Development Consortium (FCWD), member of the North Florida Transportation Planning Organization (TPO), member of the Tourist Development Council (TDC), Tri-Chairman of the Board of Directors of the First Coast Manufacturing Association (FCMA), and member of St. Vincent's de Paul Council on Health Systems.

Contact: Dianne Smith, Executive Assistant to Council President Corrigan, at (904) 630-1677.