City Council President Ronnie Fussell Presents Year-End Awards

June 24, 2009  

2008-09 Jacksonville City Council President Ronnie Fussell (At-Large, Group 1) turned over the Council leadership to his successor, Council Member Richard Clark (District 3) in a mid-day ceremony in the City Council Chamber on Wednesday, June 24th and in his final action as President, presented two annual awards and created a new award that he hopes will also become an annual tradition.

Fussell presented the Charles D. Webb Award for outstanding service by a City Council Member during the last year to Council Member Art Graham (District 13) who chaired the Land Use and Zoning Committee and is also a board member of the Northeast Florida Regional Council and a member of the Council's Seaport and Airport Special Committee. The Robert O. Johnson Good Government Award, presented annually to a City employee who exemplifies honesty and integrity in service to the City government, was awarded to Lin White, the Public Works Department's legislative liaison to the City Council, in recognition of her accessibility and reliable assistance to the Council and its staff.

Outgoing President Fussell also established the Starr Bishop Award for unsung community service by a citizen or organization and presented the first award posthumously to the award's namesake, Starr Bishop, the daughter of Council Member Bill Bishop (District 2) and his wife Melody Bishop. Starr Bishop, who died in March 2009 at age 21 from ALS (Lou Gehrig's disease), was well known for her devotion to her community, her church, and to numerous causes large and small which she pursued with passion and enthusiasm until her untimely death. Fussell established the award to recognize the countless acts of civic involvement and neighborly assistance that take place around the City every day that contribute to the City's quality of life.

During the installation ceremony outgoing President Fussell was presented with a ceremonial gavel by incoming President Clark in recognition of his service to the Council during the 2008-09 council year.

Further information or comments may be obtained from Cheryl Brown, Director/Council Secretary at 630-1452.