Would you like to view this page in desktop format? YesNo

Side Navigation Menu

Back To Top
City of Jacksonville

The City Council Resiliency Special Committee Completes Transfer of Leadership and Establishes Three New Subcommittees

July 14, 2020  

JACKSONVILLE, Fla. – Incoming Council President Tommy Hazouri confirmed his support for the continuation of the Special Committee on Resiliency in a June 30th memorandum noting the committee’s official charge and makeup. In a noticed meeting on July 14th, outgoing committee Chair, Councilmember Matt Carlucci, welcomed the appointment of Councilmember Randy DeFoor as the committee’s new Chair. In addition to Councilmembers Carlucci and DeFoor, Councilmembers Michael Boylan, Garrett Dennis, and Joyce Morgan will sit on the committee.

The Committee established the creation of three subcommittees to aid in the charge of submitting a report of the Committee’s findings by the June 30th, 2021 deadline. The subcommittees include the Environmental Planning Subcommittee, chaired by Brooks Andrews, Chair of the Board of Directors of Riverside Avondale Preservation, that will focus on environmental shocks (hurricanes, storm events), stresses (sea level rise) and will provide input related to how Jacksonville can better protect local communities in relation to those hazards; the Infrastructure and Continuity of Operations for Essential Services Subcommittee, chaired by Councilmember Garrett Dennis, that will focus on critical infrastructure within Duval County, such as bridges, hospitals, grocery stores, roadways, and drainage systems; and the Education, Protection of Local Neighborhoods, and Community Outreach Subcommittee, chaired by Councilmember Joyce Morgan, that will focus on ways where the City of Jacksonville can better inform its citizens through community engagement efforts.
The Special Committee on Resiliency encourages support and suggestions from local community groups related to the resiliency and betterment of Jacksonville and encourages attendance at upcoming Resiliency Committee and Subcommittee meetings.

Media Release

Click here for more information about the Resiliency Special Committee.