The late Mary Littlejohn Singleton was one of the first women elected to the City Council in modern times.  Having first been elected to the Council of the prior City of Jacksonville in 1967, she served as Vice President of the former City Council for the 1967-68 term.  Singleton and Sallye Mathis were also the first minorities to serve on the City Council since George Ross in 1907.  She was elected to the first City Council after Consolidation, serving from 1968 to 1972 when she was elected to the Florida State Legislature. Singleton was re-elected to the Legislature in 1974. A graduate of Florida A&M University, Singleton was a former school teacher and known for her work as Chair of the Child Day Care Commission.  She died of cancer in 1980.  The Governor declared December 7, 1990, "Mary Singleton Day" in remembrance of her efforts toward peace and brotherhood.  The Jacksonville City Council recognized January 30, 1992, as "Mary Singleton Day" and established the "Mary L. Singleton Memorial Award" for Justice, Peace and Social Harmony. 

Reinstated in 2012, the "Mary L. Singleton Memorial Award" is given annually,
by the out-going 
Council President, to the most outstanding Committee Chair.









Scott Wilson





John R. Crescimbeni





January 30, 1992

Jacob F. Bryan, III
Rutledge Pearson


December 3, 1992

Wendell P. Holmes
Mayor Jake M. Godbold


December 2, 1993

Dr. Frances B. Kinne
Mrs. L.E. "Mama" Williams


December 9, 1994

Dr. W.W. Schell, Jr.
Doug J. Milne


December 7, 1995

Alton Wendell Yates
T. O'Neal Douglas


December 5, 1996

Marian Chambers
Rev. Davette Turk


December 11, 1997

Mayor Ed Austin
Bernard Gregory
Rev. Rudolph McKissick, Sr.