#### Mayor's Young Leaders Advisory Council (MYLAC)

#### December 17, 2016

### **Minutes**

Proceedings of the Mayor's Young Leaders Advisory Council taken on December 17, 2016 in the Lynwood Roberts Room of City Hall, 117 W. Duval Street, Jacksonville, Florida commencing at 12:00 p.m.

### Committee Members Attending

Maria Dawson, Jayla Hall, Tanisha Mugwimi, Scott Gann, Hailey Giannuzzi, Ravi Patel, Dionna Shine, Matthew Alderman, Breanna Brady, Rashay Jenkins Jr., Tierra Andrews, Randi Alt, Dalton Miller, Kaia Harris, Marleana Ellis, Adama Barry, Jamaica Bell, Cheyln McCants, Christina Demps, Myles Jackson, Kioni Lloyd, Kiara Lloyd, Ti'Tianna Mills, Victoria Laws, Alyssa Beasley, Haley Pitman, Andrew Ryan, Cindy Zheng, Danish Sayed, Sarah Duggan, Stephen Herring, Jason Puthusseril, William Blaylock, Hannah Allison, Anne Carter, Tatiana Hudson, Zi Lin, Darien Glover, Kayley Delay, Gabe Wise, Diamond Martin, Tyrese Manigault, George Lewis.

### Staff Attending

# Dr. Charles Moreland, Laquieta Brown

Dr. Moreland opened up with an introduction to the members of the council. He discussed leadership roles and values. He conducted an open forum and dialogue with the members. He then presented a video from the Ethics Office called, "Conformity Bias." Conformity bias refers to our tendency to take cues for proper behavior in most contexts from the actions of others rather than exercise our own independent judgment. The members had an open forum and discussed their opinions and perspectives of the video. Dr. Moreland then presented another video called, "Moral Awareness." Moral awareness is the ability to detect and appreciate the ethical aspects of a decision that one must make. The members had an open forum and perspectives of this video as well.

Dr. Moreland went over The Sunshine Law and the Exemptions to the Public Records Law regarding personal information.

Tanisha Mugwimi went over the minutes from the September 10<sup>th</sup> meeting and there were no changes to the minutes.

The members voted for the MYLAC Officers of 2016-2017. Those who ran for office were given one minute to present their speech. The MYLAC officers are as follows: President: Scott Gann, Vice President: Maria Dawson, Secretary: Chelyn McCants, and the Ambassadors: Victoria Laws and Breanna Brady.

The members then selected make up dates because of the meetings that were missed in October and November and selected Saturday January 14, 2016.

The members voted on their project date. The members selected April 1, 2017 for their project date and will continue to plan accordingly.

Closing remarks were made by the newly elected President Scott Gann. The meeting was adjourned at 2:30 p.m.

## Next Meeting

The next meeting of MYLAC is noon, January 21, 2017 at the usual City Hall Location in the Lynwood Roberts Room.