Since its inception in 1967, the JHRC has worked diligently to ensure that all members of the Jacksonville community enjoy a community free of discriminatory practices.  The purpose is to:

  • Promote and encourage fair treatment and equal opportunity for all persons regardless of race, color, religion, sex, national origin, age, disability, and marital or familial status;

  • Promote mutual understanding and respect among members of all economic, social, racial, religious and ethnic groups;

  • Eliminate discrimination against and antagonism between racial, religious and ethnic groups.


The Jacksonville Human Rights Commission has an appointed body that consists of 11 members who broadly represent the diverse population of Jacksonville. Commissioners are appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by the City Council for an initial term of up to three (3) years.  They may be eligible for re-appointment for a consecutive term of three years.

Current Commissioners

Bulgin, William ”Casey”
Buyuksarac, Sel
Hammond, Ada A.
Lupoli, Dr. Thomas
Manning, Joann
Meenan, Kyle
Oliveras, Gary M.
Pass, Peret
Peters, Donald
Rowley, Mark E.
Yeleti, Vasivi


Commission Meetings

Notice is hereby given that the Jacksonville Human Rights Commission will meet as follows:

Second Tuesday of each month, unless otherwise noted.
11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Mayor's Conference Room
Fourth Floor – St. James Building
117 W. Duval St.
 Jacksonville, FL, 32202 
Any changes in the noticed meetings will be posted in compliance with Florida's Government-in-the-Sunshine Law.