Would you like to view this page in desktop format? YesNo

Side Navigation Menu

Navigation Body
Main Content

Activating an Innovative, Sustainable and Resilient Community

October 15, 2021
UNF Adam W. Herbert University Center - 12000 Alumni Drive  Jacksonville, FL 32224

Symposium Program Booklet

List of Attendees - Alpha by Last Name

List of Attendees - Alpha by Organization

Symposium Presentations:

Opening Session:  St. Johns River  - Health and Projects Update 

Dr. Gerald Pinto                                       State of the River Report
Tom Frick                                                 Resilience:  A Water Management District Perspective

Morning Breakout Sessions              

Session A:  Sustainability in Action  -  Host:  Sarah Boren - USGBC Florida                          

Sustainability Intro
Amanda Askew - City of Atlantic Beach  -  City of Atlantic Beach Sustainability 
Mary Tappouni - Breaking Ground Contracting   -   NF Green Chamber Sustainability in Action
Ashantae Green - Duval Soil & Water Conservation District

Session B:   SMART North Florida, Clean Fuels Coalition and other Regional Efforts - Working Toward an Innovative and Resilient Future
Host - Jeff Sheffield - North Florida TPO

Elizabeth De Jesus - North Florida TPO and NF Clean Fuels Coalition  -  NF Clean Fuels Coalition
Clayton Levins - SMART North Florida  -  SMART North Florida 

Session C:  Managing our Marshes:  Adapting in the Face of Sea Level Rise and Climate Change
Host - Kaitlyn Dietz - GTM Research Reserve

Please contact James Richardson at jrichard@coj.net for presentation

Session D:  Urban Core Resilience Efforts - Emerald Trail and McCoys Creek
Host - Kelsey Cox, P.E. - City of Jax Public Works

Session Presentation
Kay Ehas - Groundwork Jacksonville
Rebecca Vanderbeck - WOOD
Nikita Reed, P.E. - COJ Public Works

Luncheon Keynote 

Alex Reed - Director of the Office of Resilience and Coastal Protection - FDEP
“Resilient Florida”  

Afternoon Breakout Sessions

Session E:  Using Technology to Preserve and Protect Natural Resources
Host:  Clint Noble, P.G.,PMP - CDM Smith 

Drone Techonolgy Presentation
COJ Vulnerabillity Assessment Presentation    

Lindsay Starner - JEA
Kelsey Cox, P.E. - COJ Public Works
Lisa Sterling, P.E., PMP, BCEE - CDM Smith
Session F:  404 Transitioning from USACOE to FDEP   -   Host:  Heather Mason - FDEP Divison of Water Resources

Session Presentation

Session G:   Basics of Impaired Waterbodies   -   Host:  Amy Tracy - Dewberry Hydro

Kevin O'Donnell, FDEP Environmental Administrator   -   Basics of Impaired Waterbodies
Session H:  Youth Initiatives:  Connecting Culture, Science and Environmental Stewardship
Host:  Ted Johnson - NPS Timucuan Preserve 

Andrew Mentrup - Nationa Park Service, Chris Conner - Jax Zoo WILD Team, Hunter Mathers - UNF Student
Jamie Lyn Lankenau - Jax Zoo WILD Team and Project Dragonfly Graduate Program, Emily Blum - Jax Zoo
Contact James Richardson at jrichard@coj.net for session presentations.

Session I:  Projects in Impaired Waterbodies   -   Host:  Melissa M. Long, P.E. - COJ Environmental Quality Divison

J.P. Johns, P.E. and James Riddle, P.E. - Woolpert
Ricardo Jimenez, P.E. - Dewberry Hydro
Contact James Richardson at jrichard@coj.net for session presentations.
Session J:  Climate Farming & The Science of Climate Change   -   Host:  Adam Rosenblatt - Citizen's Climate Lobby - NF

Charles Goodin - Johnny Appleseed Organic
Contact James Richardson at jrichard@coj.net for session presentations.

Session K:  Resilience Planning: South Atlantic Coastal Study and Flagler County  -  Host:  Eric Summa - USACOE

Margo Moehring - NF Regional Council  -  Flagler:  A County-wide Approach
Kip Webber - USACOE  -  South Atlantic Coastal Study

Session L:  Infrastructure Resilience Components of the Clean Waterways Act   
Host:  Terry Carr, C.H.M.M. - COJ Environmental Quality Divison

Maurice Barker - FDEP   -  Collection System Rulemaking and Resiliency

Closing Session:  COJ Resiliency - Where We Are and Where We Are Going

Session Host:   Sean Lahav - NF Regional Council
Panelists:         Honorable Randy DeFoor - District 14 City Council and Chair of the Special Committee on Resiliency, John Pappas - Dir of Public Works for City of Jacksonville, Kristen Reed - COJ Chief of Community Planning, Anne Coglianese - COJ Chief Resilience Officer