Would you like to view this page in desktop format? YesNo
Back To Top
City of Jacksonville

Sec. 78.103. - Membership; terms

(a)  The Commission shall be composed of no more than 28 members. Twenty members shall be voting members appointed by the City Council in accordance with the following requirements. Voting members shall be a resident of the City of Jacksonville or have substantial business interests within the City (either employed by a business located in the City or volunteer, affiliate or serve on the board for an organization whose principal place of business is Jacksonville). Voting members shall serve staggered two-year terms, commencing July 1, but shall serve until their successors are appointed and confirmed. Of the initial appointments, ten voting members shall serve for one year terms, and 10 voting members shall serve for two year terms; but appointments to fill vacancies for partial terms (less than 50 percent of a full term) and initial appointments under the preceding sentence for less than two years shall not be deemed to be full terms. No voting member shall serve more than two full consecutive terms. Voting members appointed pursuant to this paragraph (a) shall serve at the pleasure of the Council and may be removed at any time by the Council.

(b) Additionally, two City Council Members shall be appointed each year by the Council President as liaisons, and shall also be non-voting members. The term for the City Council member shall be a one-year term, but the Council President may appoint a City Council member for an additional consecutive one-year term.
(c) Six additional members shall be non-voting liaison members and designated as follows:
(1) A representative from the Mayor's Office;
(2) A representative from the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office;
(3) A representative from the State Attorney's Office;
(4) A representative from the Public Defender's Office;
(5) A representative from the Kid's Hope Alliance; and
(6) A representative from the Duval County Public Schools.
Liaisons shall be designated by their organization to serve either annually or for two-year increments. The Council President may appoint additional members annually to serve as non-voting liaisons such as youth representatives, victim advocate representatives or other persons with subject matter expertise that can assist the Commission.

Commission Members:

Name Category Term End Date
Constance Hall, Chair Voting Member 6/30/2023
Ronnie King, Vice-Chair Voting Member 6/30/2022
Larry Cook Voting Member 6/30/2023
Frank Denton Voting Member 6/30/2022
Tom Geismer Voting Member 6/30/2023
William "WC" Gentry Voting Member 6/30/2022
Ellen Glasser Voting Member 6/30/2023
Jeffrey Gorley Voting Member 6/30/2024
Shelly Grant Voting Member 6/30/2023
Mark Griffin Voting Member 6/30/2022
Desiree Jones Voting Member 6/30/2023
Nemiah Rutledge Voting Member 6/30/2025
Vicki Waytowich Voting Member 6/30/2023
Shamika Baker Wright Voting Member 6/30/2023
Sam Newby, Liaison City Council President 6/30/2023
Charles Moreland, Liaison Mayor's Office  
Katoia Wilkins, Liaison Kid's Hope Alliance  
Jennifer Short, Liaison Jacksonville Sheriff's Office  
Jackie Simmons, Liaison Duval County Public Schools  
Stephen Siegel, Liaison State Attorney's Office  
Harry "Reece" Wilson, Liaison Office of General Counsel  
VACANT Voting Member  
VACANT Voting Member  
VACANT Voting Member  
VACANT Voting Member  
VACANT Voting Member  
VACANT Voting Member  
VACANT Voting Member