Skip to page content
Skip to global navigation
Skip to sub-navigation
Skip to search
Skip to page heading
Skip to breadcrumb
Skip to main content
Skip to footer
Top of Page
Skip to all departments
Accessibility Statement and Access Key Legend
Skip to help
Start of Category Links
Things to Do
End of Category Links
Skip To End Of Global Navigation
Search and City Services
Search & City Services
Apply / Register
File / Report
File a Complaint (630-CITY)
Service Requests (630-CITY)
Legislative Bill Search
Parks & Amenities
Offices / Departments
Link to All Departments Page
Focus to close search box
Courts / Legal
Boards & Commissions
Independent Authorities & Agencies
Other Elected Officials
Interlocal Agreements with Political Subdivisions
Community Redevelopment Area Boards
Storm Resiliency & Infrastructure Development Review Committee
Starting a Small Business
Expanding/Relocating a Business
Doing Business with the City
Jacksonville Small & Emerging Business
Title VI Compliance
Things to Do
Things to Do
Arts & Culture
Sports & Entertainment
Pay a Fee
Request a Service
JaxReady Mobile App
Evacuation Zone Search
Would you like to view this page in desktop format?
Side Navigation Menu
Sub-Navigation Menu Start:
Concealed Weapons License
Tag and Title
Auto Tag Information
Mobile Home Information
Duval County Millage Charts
Real Estate Taxes
Tangible Personal Property Tax
Tax Sale, Certificates, and Tax Deeds
Local Business Tax
Fire & Going Out of Business
Hunting and Fishing Licenses
Saltwater Fishing Licenses
Self-Reporting Taxes (Convention and Tourist, Public Service)
Stormwater & Solid Waste Fees
Files Available for Download
For sitemap menu
options click on the
Social Media Links
Site Search Tab
Back To Top
City of Jacksonville
Tag and Title
Auto Tag Information
Auto Tag Information
Registration & Renewal
Under State Law, if you own a motor vehicle, you must renew your tag (vehicle registration) each year by midnight of the first owner's birthday. Late fees are imposed for all license tags renewed after the tenth day of the month following the birth month. When you renew your tag, you must present Proof of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance in an amount of $10,000 or greater and Property Damage Liability (PDL) insurance in an amount of $10,000. You must also supply the drivers license number of the owner and co-owner, if applicable. Most vehicles are licensed according to weight. Travel trailers, vessels, and mobile homes are licensed according to length.
Florida uses a metal license plate with the alpha numeric system, meaning there are combinations of letters and numbers used for identification. The license plate is displayed on the rear of the vehicle with the exception of certain commercial vehicles. The plate is issued to the owner for ten years. The owner will receive a new plate (with new numbers and letters) during the tenth year. Follow this
link for a list of specialty plates offered by the State of Florida DMV
Proof of Insurance
Proof of insurance (binder, policy or card) from a certified Florida agent or broker is required to purchase and renew a license plate in Florida. The vehicle owner must present to the Tax Collector documentation of Personal Injury Protection (PIP) insurance in an amount of $10,000 or greater and Protection Damage Liability (PDL) insurance in an amount of $10,000 or greater. Motorcycles, mobile homes and trailers are exempt from the insurance requirement.
Renewals by Mail
License plates, decals and registration receipts can be mailed to the vehicle owner. An additional mail fee will apply if a metal plate is issued.
Change of Address
In order to maintain accurate records and to help ensure that each registered owner receives a tag renewal notice, all changes of address must be reported to the Tax Collector's Office within 20 days. The vehicle owner is required to provide the license plate number along with the address change report. It is the responsibility of each registered owner to ensure that the vehicle's registration is kept current. Notices are mailed by the local Tax Collector as a courtesy service only and to help facilitate the renewal process.
Members of the Armed Forces stationed in Florida, but who maintain their legal residence outside the State of Florida, are classified as non-resident military and are eligible for special registration rates. To qualify for the special rates, Florida Law requires that the vehicle owner must submit a copy of their military orders assigning them to a Florida military duty station and a signed Military Non-Resident Affidavit. Proof of Florida insurance is mandatory.
If the vehicle is not titled in Florida, a copy of the current out-of-state title/registration is required for application. The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) must be verified by a Tax Collector's Office employee, Florida notary public, Florida motor vehicle dealer or a state or military law enforcement officer.
Regular rates will apply if the non-resident's status changes. Also, if military orders transfer the owner out of the State of Florida, they are no longer entitled to Florida registration.
(WARNING: Military personnel who file for non-resident status on a vehicle will not be eligible to file homestead exemption in the State of Florida. Contact the Duval County Property Appraiser's Office for more information)
New Resident Requirements
New residents may apply for their auto tag (or mobile home) registration and a Florida title at any one of the Tax Collector's locations. Since States have different requirements, come fully prepared with all documents showing proof of ownership. Make sure all owners listed on the title are present or an appointed power of attorney. Your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and odometer reading must be recorded on form
which we can provide for you. Your Florida vehicle title is processed in Tallahassee and will be mailed to you or your lienholder by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. Be prepared to submit proof of required insurance, the driver license number(s) of all required owners, and the color of the vehicle.
All motor vehicles being registered in Florida for the first time must have the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) verified. The Tax Collector's Office will perform this service at the time of registration. The VIN can also be verified by any law enforcement officer, a Florida notary public or a Florida motor vehicle dealer.
Annual license taxes for the operation of motor vehicles, as defined by Florida Statutes, must be paid at the time of registration and renewal. All fees are subject to change by Legislative Act.
The first time a license plate is purchased for a motor vehicle in Florida, a $225.00 Initial Registration Fee may be imposed. This fee applies to private automobiles, motor homes and trucks weighing less than 5,000 pounds.
Specialized License Plates
For an additional fee, Florida vehicle owners can purchase a specialty license plate to commemorate an event or to show support to an organization, college, or special interest group. The majority of the funds collected for these plates are distributed to the specified agency to enhance their programs. All Florida specialty plates are approved by the State Legislature. For additional specialtiy plate information click on the tag below:
Florida Vehicle Titles
To transfer a Florida title, the seller(s) and purchaser(s) must complete the "transfer of title by seller" section on the current title, including the purchaser's name, the selling price, and the odometer reading at the time of the sale. A bill of sale may be submitted for proof of purchase price. Sales tax will be collected if applicable. All transfers of ownership must be completed within 30 days of the date the vehicle is assigned by the seller or a $20.00 fee is levied at the time of transfer.
An out-of-state title must be submitted as proof of ownership and if transfer of ownership is involved, it must be properly assigned indicating the new owner's name and address. An application for Florida title must be completed and accompanied by verification of the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and odometer reading (
DHSMV Form 82042
). The owner(s) or purchaser(s) must sign this form or give power of attorney. Sales tax will be collected if applicable.
New Vehicle Titles
All new vehicles are required to have a Manufacturer's Certificate of Origin (MCO) which must be signed and notarized by a licensed dealer for transfer to the buyer. To obtain a Florida title, the MCO must be filled out completely and attached to the title application form (
DHSMV Form 82040
). The information must include the owner's complete name and Florida address, date of birth, sex, drivers license number, a complete description of the vehicle and any lien to be recorded. Sales tax will be collected, if applicable. The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and odometer reading must both be verified by a law enforcement officer or a Florida notary public. If a license plate is being transferred onto the new vehicle, proof of insurance and registration is required.
Fast Title Service
Authorization for Release of Fast Title Form
All Duval County Tax Collector locations offer an expedited fast title service for an additional fee of $10.00, available on most title transactions. Regular title fees still apply. The application for title, the authorization for release of fast title (see .pdf above), along with all required documents and fees, must be submitted or mailed to the Duval County Tax Collector's oOffice for processing. A certificate of title will be issued to walk-in customers immediately or mailed to the designated recipient/registered owner. Restrictions apply. Please contact the Tax Collector's Office at (904) 630-1916 for further information.
Need Assistance? Contact MyJax
Accommodations for persons with disabilities are available upon request.
Visit our accessibility page for more information.
©2019 Official City of Jacksonville and Duval County Government Website, All Rights Reserved. | v3.10.19