Mayor Selects Jacksonville Leaders for JEA Board

November 05, 2015  
JEA logo

Two well-respected and strong Jacksonville leaders have been selected to serve on the JEA Board of Directors. Mayor Lenny Curry recently announced the nominations of Edward E. Burr, GreenPointe Holdings LLC president and CEO, and Warren A. Jones, former city council president.

“I am convinced that these long-time Jacksonville leaders will bring a breadth of experience and passion to the JEA Board,” said Mayor Curry. “Their dedication to service, innovation and leadership demonstrate a strong commitment to the growth of our city, and its people.” 
Burr leads GreenPointe Holdings LLC, a diversified holding company that brings together the necessary disciplines to create sustainable, high-value communities throughout the southeastern United States. Prior to leading GreenPointe Holdings, Burr founded the LandMar Group LLC in 1987, and led the company’s creation of award-winning communities in Florida and coastal Georgia.
Burr currently serves as chair of the Jacksonville Civic Council, and has led numerous other boards including the Jacksonville Regional Chamber of Commerce, and  the Jacksonville Transportation Authority. He is also the chairman and founder of the Monique Burr Foundation for Children.
Jones, a lifelong resident of District 9, served as city councilman from 1979 – 1999, and again from 2007– 2015. During his tenure, he was elected city council president for two terms (1991 – 1992 and 1992 – 1993).
Throughout his service as a city councilman, Jones led and collaborated with the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office and area neighborhood associations to reduce crime. He also strongly supported and advocated for infrastructure improvements to increase jobs and economic development opportunities in District 9 communities. 

About the City of Jacksonville

The City of Jacksonville is the largest city by land mass in the continental United States, serving approximately 850,000 residents. Located in Duval County, City of Jacksonville leadership includes the mayor and a 19-member City Council. To learn more about the City of Jacksonville, visit