Neighborhoods, Community Services, Public Health and Safety Committee

The Committee shall consider matters relating to parks; recreation; public housing; affordable housing; fair housing; farms; forestry; fish and game; Jacksonville Zoo and Gardens; Sister Cities program; Jacksonville Public Library; Parks, Recreation and Community Services Department; University of Florida agricultural extension service; Jacksonville Housing and Community Development Commission; Jacksonville Housing Authority; ad valorem property tax exemptions; historic preservation; community revitalization; tree canopy, tree protection and tree mitigation issues; Jacksonville Waterways Commission; derelict vessels; vessels for hire; Urban Services Districts; community development districts; the Neighborhoods Department; human rights, equal opportunity, discrimination and related issues; Jacksonville Human Rights Commission; education and schools; Duval County School Board; literacy issues; higher education institutions and issues; Jacksonville Children's Commission; child services; service quality improvement and pubic satisfaction with government services; the Department of Health; public health; international travel; wellness; mental health; drugs and addiction; human services; homelessness; poverty; public assistance; Public Service Grants; Cultural Service Grants; visual and performing arts, entertainment and culture; public safety; safety hazards and dangerous conditions; motor vehicle inspections; jails, corrections, probation, restitution, release programs, ex-offender re-entry and related issues; crime and crime prevention; victim services; Jacksonville Journey; Sheriff's Office; police-community relations; Fire and Rescue Department; emergency preparedness and civil defenses; military bases;, personnel and operations; veterans affairs; Military Affairs and Veterans Department; and all related subjects.

Food Deserts Subcommittee 

Committee Members

Randy White - Chair

Matt Carlucci - Vice Chair
Rory Diamond 
Reggie Gaffney
Brenda Priestly Jackson
Joyce Morgan
Sam Newby

Committee Staff

Jessica Smith, Legislative Assistant
Crystal Shemwell, Legislative Assistant

Jacksonville City Council
Legislative Services Division
117 W. Duval St., Suite 430
Jacksonville, FL  32202

Phone:  (904) 255-5122

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records.  If you do not want your email address published, do not send electronic mail to City Council Members or staff.  Instead, contact the City Council by phone or in writing.

ADA Accommodation Notice

Pursuant to the American with Disabilities Act, accommodations for persons with disabilities are available upon request. Please allow 1-2 business days notification to process; last minute requests will be accepted; but may not be possible to fulfill. Please contact Disabled Services Division at: V 904-255-5466, TTY-904-255-5476, or email your request to

Agenda Meeting Location / Time

First & Third Monday at 9:00 a.m.
City Hall - St. James Building
1st Floor - Council Chamber
117 W. Duval Street
Web Calendar 

Committee Charge

Committee Meeting Location / Time

First & Third Monday at 9:30 a.m.
City Hall - St. James Building
1st Floor - Council Chamber
117 W. Duval Street
Web Calendar

Committee Agendas


In Session Meetings

Please click the link below to view live streaming video of meetings: