About Us

The Department of Parks, Recreation and Community Services is a nationally accredited CAPRA agency that serves diverse populations of all ages and abilities through recreation activities and programs, conservation and marine resources, senior services, social services, disabled services and agricultural education.

The department provides the day to day management and oversight for one of the largest, diverse, and unique urban park systems in the nation with over 400 park and recreational sites within the city limits consisting of a variety of parks, open spaces, trails, athletic facilities, community and senior centers, beaches, golf courses, aquatic facilities, boat and kayak launches, nature preserves, along with an amphitheater, arboretum and an equestrian center. Recreation programs and activities are available year-round for our park users of all ages and abilities.

In Jacksonville, there is always something to do, see, and experience daily at our parks!

Another important function of the department is serving those most in need through our Senior, Disabled and Social Services Divisions. We provide day to day support for the populations most in need of these critical services. For those in need of any of these services, we are here for you.

Lastly, we provide training and support to our professionals and volunteers that are part of our agricultural and landscaping industry by providing agricultural education through our Duval County Extension office. If you are in need of these services, we can help.

Interim Director - Daryl Joseph; (904) 255-7903; djoseph@coj.net
Chief, Recreation Programming - Sherry Wilson; (904) 255-7917; SherryW@coj.net
Chief, Natural and Marine Resources - Tera Meeks: (904) 255-7912; TMeeks@coj.net
Chief, Disabled Services - Elizabeth Meyer; (904) 630-4940; BMeyer@coj.net
Chief, Social Services - Johnetta Moore; (904) 630-4720; JMoore@coj.net
Chief, Senior Services - Gloria Crawford; (904) 630-3410; GCrawford@coj.net
Manager, Parks Finance - Claire Stine; (904) 255-8266; CStine@coj.net
Manager, Marketing and Community Relations - Pam Roman; (904) 255-7902; proman@coj.net