The Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee reviews and revises city standard specificationscity standard details, and the Land Development Procedures Manual. The Committee recommends amendments to the Jacksonville Code of Ordinances and 2030 Comprehensive Plan relating to transportation, traffic engineering and roadway design, including but not limited to parking, sidewalks, bicycle and pedestrian use and transit. It also advises the appropriate Council committee(s) of its decisions.

The CSSSC is comprised of thirteen members; the Mayor and City Council President each appoint six citizen members from various occupational fields and industries. These members have staggered four-year terms. The Director of Mass Transit from the Jacksonville Transportation Authority serves as the only permanent member. The committee is supported by staff from the Public Works Engineering and Construction Management Division and the Planning and Development Department, and the City's ADA Coordinator.

"Reading the documents provided below requires the Adobe Acrobat Reader available for free from Adobe." Click here to download the Adobe Acrobat Reader.

Context Sensitive Street Standards Committee

Current Committee Members:

  • Allan Iosue (Chair)
  • Montasser Selim (Co-Chair)
  • Christopher Burns
  • Bernard Jorn
  • Lawrence Roberts
  • Chris Ruen
  • Emily Suter
  • Ameera Sayeed
  • Steve Tocknell
  • William Joyce 
We are currently taking applications for unfilled positions as representatives for the Context Sensitive Streets Committee.  We need volunteers to fill the following positions:

Representative of the Home Builders Association
Representative of Jacksonville's Rural Area
Representative from the Trucking Industry

To obtain any information about the Committee, how to volunteer or copies of agendas and minutes, please contact Lurise Bannister, Transportation Planning Services Manager. Email Lurise Bannister. Lurise Bannister can be reached at (904)-255-7839. 


Committee Meetings

Notice is hereby given that the Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee will meet at the date/time listed below:
Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee (CSSSC) August, 2023 Meeting
Thursday, August  31, 2023
10:00 AM – 12:00 PM EST
Edward Ball Building, 8th Floor Conference Room #825
214 N Hogan Street
Jacksonville, Florida 32202
The Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee meeting will also be hosted virtually through Micosoft Teams and will begin promptly at 10:00 AM:

Click Here to Join the Meeting

Meeting ID: 234 487 714 069
Passcode: EFZW2E
Please direct questions to:
Matt Fall, Bicycle-Pedestrian Coordinator
(904) 255-7835

Members of the Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee will be in attendance at this meeting, and will discuss topics relating to the Context Sensitive Streets Standards Committee.

Design Guidelines and Manuals

Don't Give Up at the Intersection NACTO 2019
Designing Walkable Urban Thoroughfares: A Context Sensitive Approach ITE 2010
Raleigh, North Carolina Street Design Manual Raleigh, NC 2018
Improving Intersections for Pedestrians and Bicyclists FHWA 2022
Minnesota DOT (MnDOT) Facilities Design Guide Chapter 8:Non-Motorized Facilities MnDOT 2022